In Fairfield and Westchester Counties call 475-206-0652

Understanding the Three Stages of Dementia

Receiving a dementia diagnosis for a loved one is an emotional and challenging experience. As you embark on this journey, it’s crucial to understand the stages of the disease to provide the best possible care and support. Dementia progresses through three distinct stages, each presenting unique challenges for the individual diagnosed and their loved ones. By understanding these stages, you can navigate the complexities of dementia caregiving with greater insight and compassion.

Stage 1: Early Stage – The Prelude to Change:

The early stage of dementia is often characterized by subtle changes in cognitive function. Your loved one may start experiencing occasional memory lapses, forgetting names or misplacing belongings or repeating themselves. These symptoms can also be attributed to normal aging, making it challenging to recognize the onset of dementia. However, early detection is crucial for effective management.

During this stage, individuals may still maintain a significant level of independence, continuing with their daily activities and social engagements. It’s essential for loved ones to be observant and communicate openly about any concerns. Encourage your loved one to undergo a comprehensive medical assessment by their physician or a neurologist for an accurate diagnosis.

As a caregiver, your role during this stage involves offering emotional support and helping your loved one make necessary lifestyle adjustments. It’s not an easy thing to cope with.  Be patient and empathetic. “Coming to grips” with the diagnosis may be difficult and, in some cases, impossible. Establishing routines and incorporating memory aids can be beneficial in managing cognitive challenges and maintaining independence and dignity. Educate yourself about dementia and explore local support groups to connect with others who share similar experiences.

Stage 2: Middle Stage – The Unraveling Maze:

The middle stage of dementia is marked by a more noticeable decline in cognitive function. Individuals may struggle with daily tasks such as dressing, eating, and personal hygiene. They may lose their way completing what were once simple tasks such as brushing one’s teeth or showering properly.  Memory loss becomes more pronounced, affecting both short-term and long-term recall. Behavioral changes, such as mood swings and agitation, may also become apparent.

Practical considerations such as home safety modifications, including the removal of tripping hazards and installation of grab bars, become necessary. Establishing a routine for personal care activities and providing clear, simple instructions can help lessen frustration for both the individual with dementia and their caregiver.

During this stage, caregivers may face increased stress and burnout. Seeking respite care and involving additional support from friends, family, or professional caregivers can provide much-needed relief. It’s crucial to prioritize self-care to maintain your own well-being throughout the caregiving journey.

Stage 3: Late Stage – Navigating the Twilight:

In the late stage of dementia, individuals experience severe cognitive decline and often lose the ability to communicate effectively. Basic motor skills decline, and individuals may become bedridden, requiring around-the-clock care. Recognizing familiar faces and memories from the past becomes challenging.

As a caregiver in the late stage, your focus shifts towards ensuring comfort, dignity, and quality of life for your loved one. Palliative care may become a part of the caregiving plan, emphasizing pain management and emotional support. Hospice services may also be considered to provide comprehensive end-of-life care.

It’s essential to engage with healthcare professionals, including geriatric specialists and palliative care teams, to create a tailored care plan that aligns with your loved one’s unique needs. Emotional support for both the individual with dementia and the caregiver remains crucial and seeking counseling or support groups can provide a sense of community during this challenging stage.


Caring for a loved one with dementia is undoubtedly a complex and emotionally taxing journey. Understanding the three stages of dementia empowers caregivers to anticipate and address the evolving needs of their loved ones more effectively. Remember, you are not alone in this journey. Seek support from local resources and connect with others who share similar experiences. Oasis Senior Advisors is a valuable resource offering guidance, support, and expertise in navigating the challenges of dementia caregiving. Reach out to them for access to resources and expert advice to ensure the best possible care for your loved one. Get in touch by calling 475.619.4123 or 914.356.1901 or fill out their online form.

Oasis Senior Advisors


are here to help

Paul and Susan Doyle

Certified Senior Advisor®

Contact Us Today